• Home
  • News
  • NDPC Events
  • Membership
  • Advocacy & Policy
  • Resources
  • About
  • Contact
  • MENU
  • Home
  • News
  • NDPC Events
  • Membership
  • Advocacy & Policy
  • Resources
  • About
  • Contact
  • 2017 Annual Meeting
    September 26-28 2017
    CanadInn/Alerus Center
    Grand Forks, ND

    (All times are Central Time)

    Tuesday, September 26, 2017

    3:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.      Bakken Backers Hosts: Bakken 2.0 – Free and open to the public

    Located in the Ballroom 4 at the Alerus Center.

    A free education session about the latest technological trends and economic investments in one of the world’s most-recognized oil formations.

    3:00 p.m.          Bakken 2.0: What the Bakken means to North Dakota’s economy – Rob Lindberg, Director of Bakken Backers

    3:20 p.m.          How we pull oil from rock 10,000 feet below the ground – Kathy Neset, Geologist & President of Neset Consulting

    3:35p.m.           A Look at the Bakken’s Contributions to American Energy – Charlie Gorecki, Director of Subsurface R&D at the EERC

    3:55 p.m.          What’s next in Bakken technology – Lynn Helms, Director of the Department of Mineral Resources

    4:05 p.m.          Preparing for careers in the Bakken – Kent Ellis, Coordinator of North Dakota Energy Education

    4:20p.m.           Panel: Growing because of the Bakken with Lt. Governor Sanford

    Creating long-term opportunities for North Dakota communities with:
    – Barry Wilfahrt, president of the Grand Forks Chamber of Commerce
    – Shawn Wenko, executive director of Williston Economic Development
    – Dale Patton, retired Watford City banker



    2:00 p.m.                        Registration Opens

    5:30 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.      Social and Hors d’oeuvres for Annual Meeting registrants.

    Located in the Ballroom 5 at the Alerus Center.

    7:00 p.m.                  Annual Bakken Pub Crawl – Annual Meeting registrants only.

    Wednesday, September 27, 2017
    The Annual Meeting will take place in the Ballroom 4 at the Alerus Center.

    8:00 a.m.                  Registration Opens

    10:00 a.m.                Opening Remarks – Ron Ness, President, North Dakota Petroleum Council

    10:05 a.m.                Doubling down on Bakken Recovery Panel Discussion

    Moderator:   John Harju, Vice President for Strategic Partners, EERC
    Panelists:      Lynn Helms, Director, ND Department of Mineral Resources; Chris Wright, CEO, Liberty Well Services

    10:45 a.m.               Remarks – North Dakota Governor Doug Burgum

    11:05 a.m.               Time To Enter the Arena: Lessons From the DAPL Protests – Rob Port, SayAnythingBlog editor

    11:20 a.m.                 Stephen Moore, Economist, The Heritage Foundation

    12:15 p.m.                 NDPC Awards Luncheon – Ballroom 5
    NDPC Excellence in Safety Award- Enerplus Resources (USA) Corporation; Automated Tank Gauging Project
    NDPC Community Engagement Award– Crestwood Equity Partners, LP; Culture of Giving
    NDPC Environmental Stewardship Award-Targa Resources; Bioremediation of Crude Oil Impacted Soils
    NDPC Distinguished Leadership Award – Brent Eslinger, Halliburton
    NDPC Outstanding Public Service Award – Representative Al Carlson

    Afternoon Session: Ballroom 4
    1:45 p.m.                 NDPC Year-In-Review – Eric Dillé, Chairman, North Dakota Petroleum Council (2016-2017)

    2:15 p.m.                 30-day permitting, Is it Achievable? -Vincent DeVito, Counselor on Energy Policy for Department of Interior

    3:00 p.m.                  Break

    3:15 p.m.                   Regulators and Industry: the Collaborative Model to Compliance- Dave Glatt, ND Department of Health

    3:35 p.m.                  The Next Generation of Petroleum Engineers – UND Petroleum Engineering

    Moderator: Jeff Kummer, President, McKenzie Energy Partners;
    UND Petroleum Engineering Industry Advisory Council
    Joel Brown, 2013 UND PE Grad, McKenzie Energy Partners; Max Johnson, 2015 UND PE Grad, Hess Corporation; Dylan Willoughby, Expected 2018 Grad; Tanner Hopfauf, Expected 2018 Grad

    4:05 p.m.                  Adjourn

    6:00 p.m.                  Social – Ballroom 5

    7:00 p.m.                  Chairman’s Banquet – Ballroom 5

    NDPC Hall of Fame Award- Craig Smith, Crowley Fleck

    Entertainment: Comedian, Bengt Washburn


    Thursday, September 28, 2017

    7:00 a.m.                  Buffet Breakfast – Ballroom 5

    7:00 a.m.                  Registration Opens

    The Annual Meeting will take place in Ballroom 4 at the Alerus Center.

    7:45 a.m.                  Opening Remarks

    7:50 a.m.                   Video Greeting- U.S. Congressman Kevin Cramer

    8:00 a.m.                   Motivational speaker- Brian Biro, America’s Breakthrough Coach

    9:00 a.m.                   Load Pass Truck Permits System – Geoff Simon, Western Dakota Energy Association

    9:10 a.m.                    Oil Market Outlook- Helen Currie, Senior Economist, ConocoPhillips

    9:50 a.m.                    Break

    10:15 a.m.                  NDPC Year-In-Review – Eric Dillé, Past North Dakota Petroleum Council Chairman

    10:30 a.m.                  Bakken Refracs & Transportation – Justin Kringstad, ND Pipeline Authority

    11:00 a.m.                   Bakken Refracs – Curtis Ryland, Regional Vice President, Bakken Asset for Marathon Oil Corporation

    11:30 a.m.                   NDIC Regulatory Update – Bruce Hicks, Department of Mineral Resources

    12:00 a.m.                   Closing Remarks and Adjourn- Ron Ness, President, North Dakota Petroleum Council
    (no lunch provided)


    Thank you to our 2017 Annual Meeting Sponsors!


    Black Gold

    AECOM  |  Continental Resources  |  Crescent Point Energy  |   Crowley Fleck PLLP  |  Enbridge  |  Energy Transfer Partners, L.P.  |   Fredrikson & Byron, P.A.  |   Grand Forks CVB  |   Halliburton Energy Services Inc.  |   Hogan Lovells US LLP  |  NinePoint Energy   |   Petro-Hunt, LLC   |   Targa Resources   |   WPX Energy  |   XTO Energy, Inc.


    ConocoPhillips  |  Energy & Environmental Research Center   |   Enerplus Resources (USA) Corporation  |  GO Wireline LLC   |   Goodnight Midstream  |  Marathon Oil Company  |   QEP Resources, Inc.  |   Select Energy Services   |   Terracon Consultants, Inc.  |   Whiting Oil & Gas 


    Aurora Energy Solutions  |  Crestwood Equity Partners LP  |  EOG Resources  |  Foundation Energy Management  |  Imperial Oil of North Dakota, Inc.  |  Knapp Oil Corporation  |  Liberty Resources, LLC  |  Lockridge Grindal Nauen  |  Meridian Energy Group, Inc. – Davis Refinery  |  Neset Consulting Service  |  North Plains Consulting Services Inc. Liberty Resources LLC  |  Uintah Engineering and Land Surveying